Texas Senate Committee Schedules May 5 Hearing On Proposed Texas Medical Board Reforms

Physicians and others concerned about physician oversight and discipline by the Texas Medical Board (“Board”) may want to share their input with key Texas legislators before or during a hearing scheduled on May 5, 2009. 

This Tuesday, May 5th, the Texas Senate Health & Human Services Committee will hold a hearing on proposed medical licensing reforms in SB 2336.  Advocates of SB 2336 and its companion, HB 3816, are urging supporters to attend the hearing and/or communicate their perspectives on the legislation.  The hearing is scheduled to begin on Tuesday, May 5th, 2009 at 9:00am in the Senate Chambers.

Supported by a broad range of physician and other health care organizations, SB 2336 and the companion HB 3816 seek to address a series of concerns expressed by physicians and others about certain practices by the Texas Medical Board. Interested persons should review the proposed changes and express their input quickly to ensure their views have an opportunity for consideration.

 Persons unable to attend the hearing in person who wish to make their views known also can consider contacting one or more members of the 2009 Senate Committee on Health and Human Services:

Chair:  Senator Jane Nelson (R-12)

1E.5

(512) 463-0112

jane.nelson@senate.state.tx.us

Steve Roddy – Chief of Staff

steve.roddy@senate.state.tx.us

Nnenna Ezekoye Policy Analyst

Nnenna.ezekoye@senate.state.tx.us

Dave Nelson – Legislative Aide

Dave.nelson@senate.state.tx.us

 

Vice-Chair: Senator Bob Deuell (R-2)

E1.706

(512) 463-0102

bob.deuell@senate.state.tx.us

Don T. Forse, Jr. – Chief Staff

Don.forse@senate.state.tx.us

Scot Kibde – Legislative/Health Policy

Scot.kibde@senate.state.tx.us

 

Members:

 

 

Senator Joan Huffman (R-17)

GE.5

joan.huffman@senate.state.tx.us

(512) 463-0117

Jonathon Stinson – Legislative Director

Jonathon.stinson@senate.state.tx.us

Kyle Kamrath – Policy Director

Kyle.kamrath@senate.state.tx.us

Ryan Hutchison – Legislative Aide

 ryan.hutchison@senate.state.tx.us

 

Senator Robert Nichols (R-3)

E1.708

Robert.nichols@senate.state.tx.us

(512) 463-0103

Steven Albright – Chief of Staff

Steven.albright@senate.state.tx.us

Adrianne Emr

Adrianne.emr@senate.state.tx.us

Angus Lupton – Policy Director

Angus.lupton@senate.state.tx.us

 

Senator Dan Patrick (R-7)***introduced and supports SB 2336

3S.3

(512) 463-0107

Dan.patrick@senate.state.tx.us

Logan Spence JD – Legislative Director

logan.spence@senate.state.tx.us

Kate Pigg – Legal Counsel

kate.pigg@senate.state.tx.us

John Gibbs – Legislative Aide

john.gibbs@senate.state.tx.us

 

Senator Eliot Shapleigh (D-29)

E1.610

eliot.shapleigh@senate.state.tx.us

(512) 463-0129

Eduardo Hagert – Chief of Staff

Eduardo.hagert@senate.state.tx.us

Sushma Jasti – Policy Director

Sushma.jasti@senate.state.tx.us

 Senator Carlos Uresti (D-19)

E1.810

carlos.uresti@senate.state.tx.us

(512) 463-0119

Tomas Larralde – Chief of Staff

Tomas.larralde@senate.state.tx.us.

Rachel Johnston – Legislative/Policy Director

Rachel.johnston@senate.state.tx.us

 Senator Royce West (D-23)

1E.12

royce.west@senate.state.tx.us

(512) 463-0123

LaJuana Barton – Chief of Staff

Lajuana.barton@senate.state.tx.us

Graham Keever – Policy Analyst

Graham.keever@senate.state.tx.us

Senator Judith Zaffirini (D-21)

1E.14

judith.zaffirini@senate.state.tx.us

(512) 463-0121

Warren von Eschenbach – Chief of Staff

Warren.voneschenbach@senate.state.tx.us

Jessica Ramos – Legislative Aide/Policy

Jessica.ramos@senate.state.tx.us

For More Information

We hope that this information is useful to you. If you need assistance responding to concerns about the matters discussed in this publication or other health care concerns, wish to obtain information about arranging for training or presentations by Ms. Stamer, wish to suggest a topic for a future program or update, or wish to request other information or materials, please contact Ms. Stamer via telephone at (214) 270-2402 or via e-mail to cstamer@CTTLegal.com.

You can review other recent updates and other publications by Ms. Stamer and other helpful health care resources and additional information about Ms. Stamer and her experience, see Stamer Health Industry Experience. If you or someone else you know would like to receive future updates about developments on these and other concerns, please be sure that we have your current contact information – including your preferred e-mail- by creating or updating your profile at here or by registering to participate in the Solutions Law Press Health Care Update blog at Health Care Update Blog. For important information concerning this communication click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: